Kindle Unlimited Alert

Protecting You is a small-town romance. This is the first of two books that feature Grace and Asher.

This is my introduction to Claire Kingsley’s books.

I know. I’ve apparently been living under a rock for quite some time. Don’t worry. I plan to spend the next few weeks working my way through some of her backlist titles. I can already tell that Gram is going to be a standout character in this series for me. I am a sucker for a fantastic wise or smartass grandma in a book series.

This title is the first in The Bailey Brothers series.


One night brings them together. Another night tears them apart.

Grace Miles misses her easy friendship with Asher, but growing up means growing apart. And really, how could he fall for her when they spent their childhood getting muddy in the creek and splitting sticks of gum?

But this summer, something feels different. If Grace didn’t know better, she’d think Asher was flirting with her. Those dark eyes, hard body, and wicked smile make her insides swirl and her heart dare to hope for things she’s convinced herself she’ll never have.

Falling for your best friend shouldn’t be complicated, but for Asher Bailey, loving Grace is anything but simple. The road to romance isn’t smooth thanks to his pack of wild brothers who are protective of the girl next door, a take-no-sass grandmother, a small town where gossip is a spectator sport, and a feud that spans generations.

But Asher realizes his feelings are too big to ignore. Loving her isn’t the risk. Losing her would be.

And one night, one kiss, changes everything.

Finally admitting their feelings is the beginning of their happily ever after. Until their fairy tale love story is tragically interrupted, and neither of them will ever be the same.

Author’s note: Lifelong soulmates, ridiculous pranks, brother shenanigans, and a feuding town. Protecting You is the Bailey Brothers series origin story. Be there when it begins and fall in love with this wild band of unruly brothers.

The Bailey Brothers is meant to be read in order, and Grace and Asher’s story concludes in book two, Fighting for Us.

Affiliate Link